Lola nineteen years ago, I knew I was blessed to call you my wife. We have worked hard to keep God first in our marriage and the love we have (for each other) is fed out of that overflow. It is refreshed each day; because we renew our love for each other daily. The absolute best thing we have ever done was give our marriage back to God by giving our honeymoon to Him as a mission trip. While it hasn’t been perfect it has been intentional and relational with God as the center of everything.

[For those of you reading this it has not been all sunshine and roses – we have had our struggles and we have been through some tumultuous times, growing deeper in faith and closer together every single day. The girls are blessed to have Lola in their lives and are rich because of it. As a father, it warms my heart to hear her say “I fell in love with them before I fell in love with you”. It is a love like this that has gotten us though those tough days and nights.]

I will never forget watching you crawl on the floor, playing “fort” with the girls or listening to the giggles as you drifted off to sleep in a “tent” you had made. I will never forget watching you help Laura put on makeup and calming her nerves of becoming a wife, on her wedding day. I will never lose the vivid memories of you rubbing the twin’s backs, helping them go to sleep or loving on Maggie because she was carsick are precious. (to this day you always have a bag prepared in the car for such occasions). I’ve watched you pull each girl close and say secret prayers in their ears and watched you pray over all 4 of them. Now you pray over Danielle, which is just a precious.

It was you that made the doctor appointments, dentist appointments, and made sure they had everything needed. It was you that drove to Murfreesboro, after work, for weeks just to teach Jennifer how to drive. It was you, always in the background, working for each girls’ benefit. It was you that created the moments that allowed me to paint the girl’s toenails and brushed their hair. It was you that held me, as I cried at night over them, and it was you that prayed for me when my pain was so deep I could not find the words to say.

Lola, I have watched you live out what it means to be a Proverbs 31 woman. Working to grow the family in faith, leading by example. You, like my dad, are meek and people see strength in all you do. It is your love and humble servants attitude that has made this house a home. It is your love that warms our souls on dark winter nights. It is your love, showing grace to everyone, always guiding, always giving.

Now you find the strength to be there for Danielle, ever helping and guiding with a love that is so true and deep it can’t be denied. You once again guide the family and love everyone. Always showing grace, saying “grace always wins”. You have taught this house, once again, how to be blended. Now it’s multigenerational, and more rich because you are here loving us.

When mom and dad went home to Heaven, they left knowing the family was in the strong hands of a loving person, wife, and mother. I see a lot of my grandmother in you as well. When you scratch my head, it takes me back to my childhood and I remember when she scratched my head as I drifted off to sleep.

Not only did God bless me 19 years ago today. He used you to change a family with your love, mercy, and grace. You have been an instrument of God and I will be forever grateful that you said “yes” that day in Ruby Tuesdays.

Tonight, as you drift off to sleep know this: After nineteen years, all I can say is I fall more in love with you each day!

Tomorrow is not important without the promise of its yesterday.

Today I promise you this… When tomorrow comes and one of us goes home first; my love will echo time until we meet again in Heaven’s bliss.

 

You are my beloved and I am yours

Leave a Reply

